The loss of a parent, a relationship breakdown, unemployment, and the fear of being made homeless would each be enough to cause most people to experience challenges with their mental health.

But Henry Cooper faced all these major life changes in a short space of time, after leaving his supermarket job to move in with his mum to become her full-time carer, after she became seriously ill. After she sadly passed away earlier this year, he then learned that his elder brother owned his mum’s house and had decided to put it up for sale.

He said: “It was an incredibly challenging time which led to acute depression and anxiety. My GP recommended a health and wellbeing course, which sounded interesting, and I thought might help my recovery.”

Henry was signposted to the RCE Wellbeing Hub, an education and learning centre run by Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust, that offers bitesize sessions on a variety of topics aimed at helping people to look after their mental and physical health and wellbeing. 

Henry said: “Attending the 6-week course gave me something to get up for, as well as introducing meaning and structure to my week. It gave me chance to talk to people and be part of something in a way that I had not experienced before. It taught me a lot of wellbeing techniques to help reduce anxiety and be mindful, as well as recognise negative thoughts and unhelpful behaviour.” 

The support he received has now inspired Henry to volunteer with the RCE Wellbeing Hub and begin his journey into employment as a peer support worker.

He added: “I am in a much better place now and life seems far more manageable. I was at my lowest point, but the RCE Wellbeing Hub has helped me so much I want to encourage others to benefit.”

Leave a comment